Internal notes are messages you can add to a conversation, but they won't be visible to the customer. Only other staff members will be able to see Internal Notes, which makes them a great way to communicate with your team within a conversation thread. When a note is left for a specific member, he or she will receive an email notification or a browser notification (if enabled).
To leave an internal note for a specific staff member, simply add their name to the recipient field.
Notes can also be left without addressing a specific staff member. These notes are visible to everyone on your team but will not trigger any outgoing notifications. We recommend using notes as much as possible if you need help, need to alert someone, or simply to combine it with the Remind feature. For example, if you leave yourself a reminder to follow up with a customer, a generic internal note will help you remember what you need to follow up with.
There are other ways internal notes can be used.
- You can leave an internal note even if you're not on the dashboard UI. If you want to leave an internal note via email, you can use the
#notesyntax preceding the actual message to trigger an internal note event.
- When you log a new message in Re:amaze, an internal note is essentially created. You can then follow up with the customer as if the customer has initiated the conversation.
Pinned Internal Notes
Re:amaze also allows you to "pin" an internal note. Pinning an Internal Note will keep that note at the top of the conversation. This can be a huge time saver for you and your staff since you won't have to scroll through your messages looking for the note you need.
To do this, simply click on the pin button located underneath the internal note.
Once your note is pinned, you will see it located at the top of your conversation. You can edit your note and unpin if you need to.
Using Internal Notes Outside of Re:amaze
If not all of your teammates have a Re:amaze account, you can still use internal notes to communicate with them by forwarding a conversation to their email address. When conversations are forwarded, recipients will receive both your message to them and a summary of the conversation between you and the customer. They can also reply directly within the original conversation without the customer seeing it. These are known as private replies. See this article about forwarding.
If you don't want to forward conversations, you can also email a permalink directly to your teammate. To access the conversation permalink, click on the timestamp under one of the conversations messages. This will take you to the conversation page.
A permalink is an publicly accessible URL to the conversation you're having with a customer.